TL;DR
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Ford says its upcoming Fathom electric pickup will use an onboard inverter for AC bidirectional charging, allowing home backup without the costly external DC-to-AC equipment used by many current systems. Ford estimates the compatible charging equipment and backup panel will cost 60% less than its comparable setup for the F-150 Lightning, excluding installation; final Fathom system pricing has not been set.
Ford’s upcoming Fathom electric pickup will be able to send power from its battery to a home using an onboard inverter, a design the company says will make backup equipment substantially cheaper than current bidirectional systems. Ford estimates the compatible charging equipment and home backup panel will cost 60% less than its $5,200 F-150 Lightning combination, before installation, but has not set the Fathom system’s final price.
Unlike many current electric vehicles that need an external device to convert battery power into household-ready electricity, the Fathom is designed to convert its battery’s direct current to alternating current onboard. Ford says this will allow customers to use less expensive equipment to send power to their homes. The system is intended for both managing household power while the grid is operating and supplying backup power during an outage, with a home backup panel required for the latter.
Ford said the new AC-capable bidirectional charger will cost roughly half the $1,300 price of its Charge Station Pro for the F-150 Lightning. The full Fathom setup, including a home backup power panel, is projected to cost 60% less than the Lightning’s $5,200 Charge Station Pro and home integration system. Those figures exclude installation, and Ford has not announced the Fathom system’s exact price.
The onboard inverter was developed with engineers at Auto Motive Power, a startup Ford acquired in 2023. Ford said the same AC bidirectional capability will be included in other vehicles based on its Universal EV Platform, which is associated with the automaker’s retooled Louisville, Kentucky, factory. The source report identifies the Fathom as starting below $30,000, but does not give a delivery date or detailed equipment availability schedule.
Lowering the Cost of Home Backup
Home backup can make an EV more useful beyond transportation, but the equipment cost has been a barrier to using a vehicle battery during outages. The report puts existing bidirectional charger and home integration equipment at just under $7,000 to more than $10,000 in some cases. Ford’s proposed lower-cost setup could make vehicle-to-home backup accessible to more buyers, particularly if the pickup’s starting price remains below $30,000. That is a potential benefit, not a guarantee of affordability: final pricing, installation charges and any other required components will shape the total cost.
The design could also affect how automakers build future EVs. Ford’s approach integrates power conversion into the vehicle rather than relying on a separate external inverter, and the report describes the added vehicle capability as relatively inexpensive when incorporated from the start. If the equipment savings and utility approvals hold up in practice, the model could encourage other manufacturers to offer similar functions. The report does not establish that competitors will adopt it.
Products Worth Considering

iRobot Roomba Max 715 Pet Robot Vacuum with AutoEmpty Dock

Ring Battery Doorbell Plus, Satin Nickel

Samsung 42-Inch S90H OLED 4K Smart TV Bundle
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Ford’s AC System Differs
Most U.S. EVs described in the report do not provide this form of AC bidirectional power directly. They typically require a separate DC-to-AC inverter connected to a home, adding equipment cost and system complexity. Ford’s F-150 Lightning system is also bidirectional, but its Charge Station Pro and home integration setup is listed at $5,200 before installation. General Motors offers a separate DC-based vehicle-to-home bundle; the report gives its sale price as $6,748.
Ford’s equipment relies on communications technology associated with SAE J3068, a standard certified by the automotive standards organization SAE International. The system must communicate with home equipment so power transfer can be managed safely. Ford’s engineers said designing the capability into a new vehicle platform avoids constraints that can arise when adding it to an existing vehicle design.
Lower hardware costs alone do not settle whether customers can connect these systems. Utility rules for AC bidirectional charging vary widely. The report says California and Maryland have established utility regulations outside pilot projects, while rules and procedures across the rest of the country remain fragmented. Ford has been engaging with utilities and regulators in states including Michigan and Colorado.
Pricing and Utility Approval
Ford has not finalized the Fathom system’s price, and its percentage savings are estimates against the specified Lightning equipment combination. The reported figures exclude installation, so the total amount a customer would pay is not yet known. The source also does not provide a confirmed launch date, which configurations will include the required equipment, or whether customers will need additional home hardware beyond the backup panel.
Access may depend on local utility rules as well as Ford equipment. The company’s work with utilities is aimed at common standards, but the report does not say that participating utilities have adopted final rules or that systems will be approved uniformly. The scope of any eventual availability, including how quickly customers in different regions can connect a system, remains unclear.
Utility Standards and Launch Details
Ford said it has been working since July with American Electric Power, BC Hydro, Consumers Energy, Exelon and Pacific Gas & Electric on common standards for connecting its AC vehicle-to-home system under standard utility interconnection rules. The company also said it has engaged regulators and utilities in Michigan and Colorado. The source report does not specify a deadline for those discussions or say when resulting standards will take effect.
The next details to watch are Ford’s final equipment pricing, installation requirements, the Fathom’s availability timetable and the process for customers to obtain utility approval. Ford also says other vehicles on the Universal EV Platform will have AC bidirectional charging; timing and model details have not been provided.
Key Questions
How will the Ford Fathom power a home?
Ford says the pickup will have an onboard inverter that converts its battery’s direct current into alternating current for household use. A home backup power panel is required to supply the home during an outage.
How much will the Fathom home backup equipment cost?
Ford has not announced a final price. It estimates the compatible charger and backup panel will cost 60% less than the $5,200 Charge Station Pro and home integration system for the F-150 Lightning. Installation is not included in that comparison.
Will the system work during a power outage?
Ford says the system is intended to provide home backup during grid outages, when paired with the required home backup power panel. The report does not specify how long it can power a home or which household loads it can support.
Will other Ford vehicles offer the same capability?
Ford’s director of grid and energy services said other vehicles based on the Universal EV Platform will also support AC bidirectional charging. Ford has not identified specific models or release dates in the source report.
Can buyers use the system anywhere in the United States?
Not necessarily. Utility rules for AC bidirectional charging vary by location, and Ford says it is working with utilities and regulators on connection standards. Local approval and requirements may affect whether and how customers can connect a system.
Source: canarymedia.com
