AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

For most households seeking a portable power station for home backup, I’d start with the EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic: its 1,024Wh capacity and 1,800W AC output offer a practical balance for essential devices. The BLUETTI AC180 is a strong alternative for buyers who want a larger 1,152Wh battery, while the Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus suits longer outages and heavier loads. The main tradeoff is between capacity and portability: compact models are easier to move but run fewer or smaller appliances, while high-capacity units take up more space. Output limits, battery chemistry, and how you plan to recharge also shape which station makes sense. Read on for the full comparison and guidance by household need.

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
13
compared
8
brands
3
battery types
3,584Wh
max battery capacity
Which portable power stations for home backup should you buy?
★ Top Pick
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 Portab
Best Overall for Home Backup
1,024Wh LiFePO4 capacity and 2,000W output cover more loads than the compact stations here
See on Amazon →
People who want a lightweight station to keep a router, phone, laptop, or a few low-wattage essentials powered during short outages.
BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 Portable P
UPS switching time of up to 10 ms for compatible backup loads
View on Amazon →
New buyers who want a compact station and included solar panel for charging phones, USB devices, and other modest loads.
ZeroKor 300W Portable Power St
Includes a foldable 60W monocrystalline solar panel
View on Amazon →
People who want a lightweight LiFePO4 station for short outages, phones, laptops, and other low-draw essentials, with solar charging available if they buy a panel.
ALLWEI 300W Portable Power Sta
256Wh LiFePO4 battery rated for 3,000 charge-discharge cycles
View on Amazon →
Apartment dwellers or home-office users who want several AC outlets and short-duration indoor backup for modest loads.
LIBRIDS 640Wh Portable Power S
640Wh LiFePO₄ battery offers more capacity than the 256Wh ALLWEI
View on Amazon →
Battery capacity — compared
BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 Portable P288Wh
ALLWEI 300W Portable Power Sta256Wh
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 Portab1,024Wh
LIBRIDS 640Wh Portable Power S640Wh
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Porta1,070Wh
EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic Por1,024Wh
DaranEner Portable Power Stati192Wh
Anker SOLIX S2000 Portable Pow2,010Wh
BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power S1,152Wh
Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Po3,584Wh
Pros & cons at a glance
BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 Portable P
✓ UPS switching time of up to 10 ms for compatible backup loads
✗ 288Wh capacity limits runtime, especially for higher-power devices
ZeroKor 300W Portable Power St
✓ Includes a foldable 60W monocrystalline solar panel
✗ Battery capacity is not specified, making runtime difficult to estimate
ALLWEI 300W Portable Power Sta
✓ 256Wh LiFePO4 battery rated for 3,000 charge-discharge cycles
✗ 300W continuous output limits appliance use
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 Portab
✓ 1,024Wh LiFePO4 capacity and 2,000W output cover more loads than the compact stations here
✗ At 11.3 kg, it is less portable than the smaller stations in this lineup
LIBRIDS 640Wh Portable Power S
✓ 640Wh LiFePO₄ battery offers more capacity than the 256Wh ALLWEI
✗ Indoor use only; must be kept away from rain, moisture, and precipitation
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Porta
✓ 1,070Wh LFP capacity in a 23.8-pound unit
✗ Less than half the capacity of the Anker SOLIX S2000
EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic Por
✓ 1,800W AC output and 3,600W surge capacity
✗ Solar panel is optional rather than included
DaranEner Portable Power Stati
✓ Lightweight 5.73-pound design
✗ 192Wh capacity provides limited backup runtime
Jackery Explorer 300 Portable
✓ 292Wh capacity in a compact 7.5-pound design
✗ 300W rated output and 292Wh capacity limit household backup use
Anker SOLIX S2000 Portable Pow
✓ 2,010Wh capacity exceeds the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2’s 1,070Wh
✗ 35.7-pound weight makes frequent carrying less convenient
Jackery Explorer 300 Portable
✓ 12.9-pound weight is easier to move and store than the BLUETTI AC180.
✗ 292Wh capacity is suited to small loads and short backup periods, not broad household coverage.
BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power S
✓ 1,152Wh capacity and 1,800W running output offer substantially more backup potential than the Explorer 300.
✗ At 37.4 pounds, it is much heavier to carry than compact stations.
Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Po
✓ 3,584Wh capacity and 3,600W output provide far more headroom than the BLUETTI AC180.
✗ The 77.2-pound weight makes lifting and frequent repositioning difficult.

Complete the kit

Porch Shield Generator Cover for 5500-15000W, 38 x 28 x 3...
Porch Shield Generator Cover for 5500-15000W, 38 x 28 x 3…
Add to your setup →
Porch Shield Generator Cover for 5000-10000W, 32 x 24 x 2...
Porch Shield Generator Cover for 5000-10000W, 32 x 24 x 2…
Add to your setup →
Portable Generator Rain Cover Waterproof for 5000-10000W...
Portable Generator Rain Cover Waterproof for 5000-10000W…
Add to your setup →

Key Takeaways

  • The 1,024Wh to 1,152Wh models are the most balanced choices: the EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic and BLUETTI AC180 pair 1,800W output with enough stored energy for more than small electronics.
  • The largest capacity is not automatically the best fit: the Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus offers 3,584Wh and 3,600W, but its size and higher power ceiling make most sense for buyers planning substantial backup loads.
  • Small stations share a clear limitation: the 192Wh to 300Wh options are better for phones, routers, lights, and short backup windows than for household appliances.
  • LiFePO4 appears across several compact and mid-capacity picks: the ALLWEI 300W, DaranEner, and BLUETTI AC180 specify this battery chemistry, giving buyers a clear comparison point beyond capacity alone.
  • Solar bundles change the setup, not the station’s limits: the ZeroKor and Jackery Explorer 300 bundles include panels, but buyers still need to match panel charging expectations to outage length and available sunlight.
2
ZeroKor 300W Portable Power St
Best Starter Solar Kit
1
BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 Portable P
Best Compact UPS Backup
3
ALLWEI 300W Portable Power Sta
Best Lightweight LiFePO4 Pick

Our Top Portable Power Stations For Home Backup Picks

BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 Portable Power Station, 288Wh, 600WBLUETTI Elite 30 V2 Portable Power Station, 288Wh, 600WBest Compact UPS BackupBattery capacity: 288WhContinuous output: 600WPower Lifting mode: 1500WVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
ZeroKor 300W Portable Power Station with 60W Solar PanelZeroKor 300W Portable Power Station with 60W Solar PanelBest Starter Solar KitMaximum output: 300WIncluded solar panel: 60W monocrystallineSolar conversion efficiency: 20.5%VIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
ALLWEI 300W Portable Power Station with 256Wh LiFePO4 BatteryALLWEI 300W Portable Power Station with 256Wh LiFePO4 BatteryBest Lightweight LiFePO4 PickBattery capacity: 256WhBattery type: LiFePO4Continuous output: 300WVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 Portable Power StationAnker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 Portable Power StationBest Overall for Home BackupBattery capacity: 1,024WhBattery type: LiFePO4Output power: 2,000WVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
LIBRIDS 640Wh Portable Power Station with 600W OutputLIBRIDS 640Wh Portable Power Station with 600W OutputBest Mid-Capacity Indoor BackupBattery capacity: 640WhBattery type: LiFePO₄Running output: 600WVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Portable Power StationJackery Explorer 1000 v2 Portable Power StationBest Lightweight Home-Backup PickBattery capacity: 1,070WhBattery type: LFPAC output: 1,500WVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic Portable Power Station, 1024Wh, 1800W ACEF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic Portable Power Station, 1024Wh, 1800W ACBest for Fast-Recharging BackupBattery capacity: 1,024WhBattery chemistry: LiFePO4AC output: 1,800WVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
DaranEner Portable Power Station, 192Wh LiFePO4 Battery with 300W AC OutputDaranEner Portable Power Station, 192Wh LiFePO4 Battery with 300W AC OutputBest for Small EssentialsBattery capacity: 192WhBattery chemistry: LiFePO4AC output: 300W, 600W surgeVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station, 292WhJackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station, 292WhBest Compact Backup for DevicesCapacity: 292WhBattery chemistry: LiFePO4Peak surge: 600WVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Anker SOLIX S2000 Portable Power Station, 2,010Wh, 1,500WAnker SOLIX S2000 Portable Power Station, 2,010Wh, 1,500WBest for Longer OutagesBattery capacity: 2,010WhBattery type: LiFePO4Continuous output: 1,500WVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station with 40W Solar PanelJackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station with 40W Solar PanelBest Compact Backup KitCapacity: 292WhPeak surge: 600WBattery chemistry: LiFePO4VIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power Station, 1152Wh LiFePO4 Battery, 1800W OutputBLUETTI AC180 Portable Power Station, 1152Wh LiFePO4 Battery, 1800W OutputBest Mid-Size Home BackupBattery capacity: 1,152WhBattery type: LiFePO4Running output: 1,800WVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station, 3584Wh, 3600WJackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station, 3584Wh, 3600WBest Expandable High-Capacity BackupBattery capacity: 3,584WhOutput wattage: 3,600WVoltage: 120V; 240V in parallelVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Specs at a glance
portable power stations for home backupBattery capacityWeightBattery type
BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 Portable P288WhAbout 9.5 pounds—
ZeroKor 300W Portable Power St———
ALLWEI 300W Portable Power Sta256Wh6.4 poundsLiFePO4
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 Portab1,024Wh11.3 kgLiFePO4
LIBRIDS 640Wh Portable Power S640Wh—LiFePO₄
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Porta1,070Wh23.8 lbLFP
EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic Por1,024Wh——
DaranEner Portable Power Stati192Wh5.73 lb—
Jackery Explorer 300 Portable —About 7.5 lb in description; 7.1 lb in product information—
Anker SOLIX S2000 Portable Pow2,010Wh35.7 lbLiFePO4
Jackery Explorer 300 Portable —12.9 lbs—
BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power S1,152Wh37.4 lbsLiFePO4
Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Po3,584Wh77.2 lbsLFP

More Details on Our Top Picks

  1. BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 Portable Power Station, 288Wh, 600W

    BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 Portable Power Station, 288Wh, 600W

    Best Compact UPS Backup

    View Latest Price

    The BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 is a better fit for keeping essential electronics running than for backing up a whole room. Its UPS switching time of up to 10 ms can help bridge a brief outage for compatible devices, while the 600W continuous output covers modest loads such as a router, laptop, or small lights. At about 9.5 pounds, it is easier to move and store than larger options such as the Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2, but its 288Wh capacity runs down much sooner. The 1500W Power Lifting mode is intended for compatible loads; it does not change the station’s 600W continuous limit. I’d choose it for portable, targeted backup, not extended appliance use. Its capacity is the main tradeoff, and the listed weight differs slightly between product details.

    Pros:
    • UPS switching time of up to 10 ms for compatible backup loads
    • 600W continuous output with a 1500W Power Lifting mode for compatible devices
    • About 9.5 pounds, making it easier to move than larger home-backup stations
    • Supports AC, solar, car, lead-acid, and generator charging
    Cons:
    • 288Wh capacity limits runtime, especially for higher-power devices
    • The 600W continuous output is not suited to many household appliances
    • The stated weight varies slightly between product details

    Best for: People who want a lightweight station to keep a router, phone, laptop, or a few low-wattage essentials powered during short outages.

    Not ideal for: Households seeking hours of backup for refrigerators, multiple appliances, or high-wattage equipment; 288Wh capacity and 600W continuous output limit that use.

    • Battery capacity:288Wh
    • Continuous output:600W
    • Power Lifting mode:1500W
    • Weight:About 9.5 pounds
    • Dimensions:9.8 × 7 × 6.6 inches
    • UPS switching time:≤10 ms
    • Total outlets:9
    • AC charging:Up to 380W; 0–80% in 45 minutes and 0–100% in 70 minutes
    Our verdict
    “Choose the BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 for portable, short-duration backup of essential electronics, not for powering appliances through a long outage.”
  2. ZeroKor 300W Portable Power Station with 60W Solar Panel

    ZeroKor 300W Portable Power Station with 60W Solar Panel

    Best Starter Solar Kit

    View Latest Price

    The ZeroKor 300W stands out for including a 60W monocrystalline solar panel, giving first-time buyers a ready-made way to recharge away from an outlet. That is a practical advantage over the ALLWEI 300W, which supports solar charging but is sold without a panel. For home backup, however, the ZeroKor is a small-load option: its 300W maximum output rules out many appliances, and the product data does not state battery capacity, so I can’t make a grounded estimate of runtime. Its AC, DC, and USB outputs suit phones and modest electronics, while the flashlight adds a useful emergency light. I’d skip it if dependable outage planning is the priority; the missing capacity figure makes it harder to judge how long essentials will run, and the panel junction box is not waterproof.

    Pros:
    • Includes a foldable 60W monocrystalline solar panel
    • Can recharge from an AC outlet, car outlet, or compatible solar panel
    • Provides AC, DC, and USB outputs for a range of small devices
    • Built-in flashlight includes reading and SOS modes
    Cons:
    • Battery capacity is not specified, making runtime difficult to estimate
    • 300W maximum output excludes many household appliances
    • Solar panel junction box is not waterproof

    Best for: New buyers who want a compact station and included solar panel for charging phones, USB devices, and other modest loads.

    Not ideal for: Households that need predictable backup runtime or power for appliances; the battery capacity is unspecified and output tops out at 300W.

    • Maximum output:300W
    • Included solar panel:60W monocrystalline
    • Solar conversion efficiency:20.5%
    • AC outlets:2, 300W maximum
    • USB ports:3 × 5V/3A maximum
    • DC output:9V–12.6V, 10A maximum
    • Recharge methods:AC outlet, 12V car outlet, or compatible 13V–23V solar panel
    • Solar panel DC output:18V/3.3A, 60W maximum
    Our verdict
    “Pick the ZeroKor as an entry-level solar kit for small electronics, but choose a station with a stated capacity for more predictable home backup.”
  3. ALLWEI 300W Portable Power Station with 256Wh LiFePO4 Battery

    ALLWEI 300W Portable Power Station with 256Wh LiFePO4 Battery

    Best Lightweight LiFePO4 Pick

    View Latest Price

    For buyers who value a light carry and a clearly specified battery, the ALLWEI 300W is a more transparent small-station choice than the ZeroKor 300W, whose capacity is not listed. Its 256Wh LiFePO4 battery is rated for 3,000 charge-discharge cycles, and the 6.4-pound weight makes it straightforward to move between a home office, car, or storage shelf. That capacity still suits brief backup for smaller electronics, not long runs of household appliances. The single AC outlet and 300W continuous limit also narrow what it can power, even though the six-port layout supports charging several devices. Unlike the ZeroKor, it does not include a solar panel, so solar recharging means sourcing one separately. I’d favor it for portable essentials, not as a central outage power source.

    Pros:
    • 256Wh LiFePO4 battery rated for 3,000 charge-discharge cycles
    • Weighs 6.4 pounds and has a compact footprint
    • Supports AC, car, solar, and AC-plus-solar charging
    • Five-year warranty
    Cons:
    • 300W continuous output limits appliance use
    • Only one AC outlet
    • Solar panel is sold separately

    Best for: People who want a lightweight LiFePO4 station for short outages, phones, laptops, and other low-draw essentials, with solar charging available if they buy a panel.

    Not ideal for: Households that need to run multiple AC appliances or want an included solar kit; it has one AC outlet, a 300W continuous limit, and no panel in the listed package.

    • Battery capacity:256Wh
    • Battery type:LiFePO4
    • Continuous output:300W
    • Peak output:600W
    • Weight:6.4 pounds
    • Output ports:1 AC outlet, 2 DC5521, 1 car port, 1 USB-A, 1 USB-C
    • AC charging time:3.5–4 hours
    • Solar charging time:4–5 hours with a 100W panel
    • Warranty:5 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose the ALLWEI for lightweight, clearly specified backup of smaller devices, but look to a higher-capacity station for appliances or longer outages.”
  4. Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 Portable Power Station

    Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 Portable Power Station

    Best Overall for Home Backup

    View Latest Price

    The Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 is the most capable all-rounder in this group for buyers who want meaningful outage coverage without jumping to a much larger station. Its 1,024Wh LiFePO4 battery and 2,000W output can handle a broader range of household essentials than the 600W LIBRIDS H1008 or the compact BLUETTI Elite 30 V2. Fast AC charging—listed as 49 minutes at 1,600W—also makes it easier to replenish between outages, while solar input reaches 600W. A sub-10 ms UPS switchover adds a useful layer for compatible electronics. The tradeoff is size and weight: at 11.3 kg, it is less convenient to move than smaller picks, and 1,024Wh still does not equal whole-home backup. The listing also gives conflicting port counts, so I would confirm the configuration before buying.

    Pros:
    • 1,024Wh LiFePO4 capacity and 2,000W output cover more loads than the compact stations here
    • AC recharge is listed at 49 minutes at 1,600W
    • Supports up to 600W solar input and lists a 1.8-hour solar recharge time
    • UPS switchover under 10 ms and at least 80% capacity after 4,000 cycles
    Cons:
    • At 11.3 kg, it is less portable than the smaller stations in this lineup
    • 1,024Wh capacity is not a replacement for whole-home or extended multi-day backup
    • Product details conflict on port count, listing 10 ports in the description and 9 outlets in the specifications

    Best for: Households seeking a substantial, rechargeable backup source for several essential devices and some higher-wattage loads, with AC and solar recharging options.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need whole-home or multi-day appliance backup, a very lightweight station, or a fully clear port listing before purchase.

    • Battery capacity:1,024Wh
    • Battery type:LiFePO4
    • Output power:2,000W
    • Peak output:3,000W
    • AC recharge time:49 minutes at 1,600W
    • Maximum solar input:600W
    • UPS switchover:Under 10 ms
    • Weight:11.3 kg
    • Warranty:5 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 for the strongest balance here of household output, usable capacity, and fast recharging, while accepting its weight and checking the port details.”
  5. LIBRIDS 640Wh Portable Power Station with 600W Output

    LIBRIDS 640Wh Portable Power Station with 600W Output

    Best Mid-Capacity Indoor Backup

    View Latest Price

    The LIBRIDS H1008 fills a useful middle ground: its 640Wh capacity is more than double the ALLWEI 300W’s 256Wh, while the 600W output and four AC outlets make it easier to serve several modest loads at once. Fast AC charging, listed at 1.5 hours, and a 10 ms UPS switchover suit a setup kept ready for short indoor outages. Yet it cannot match the Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 for either capacity or output, so I would not count on it for demanding appliances or long outage coverage. The biggest constraint is its indoor-use-only warning: it must stay dry and protected from moisture, making it a poor fit for exposed outdoor use. Its 600W running limit also rules out many high-draw devices.

    Pros:
    • 640Wh LiFePO₄ battery offers more capacity than the 256Wh ALLWEI
    • Four AC outlets among eight total output ports
    • 1.5-hour AC charging time and 10 ms UPS switchover
    • Battery is rated for 4,000+ cycles
    Cons:
    • Indoor use only; must be kept away from rain, moisture, and precipitation
    • 600W running output excludes many higher-power appliances
    • Much less capacity and output than the Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2

    Best for: Apartment dwellers or home-office users who want several AC outlets and short-duration indoor backup for modest loads.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need outdoor or weather-exposed backup, extended runtime, or support for appliances drawing more than 600W.

    • Battery capacity:640Wh
    • Battery type:LiFePO₄
    • Running output:600W
    • Surge output:1,200W
    • Output ports:8 total, including 4 AC outlets
    • Charging time:1.5 hours
    • UPS switchover:10 ms
    • Dimensions:8.3 × 6.9 × 8.2 inches
    • Use restriction:Indoor use only; protect from rain, moisture, and precipitation
    Our verdict
    “Choose the LIBRIDS H1008 for multiple modest indoor loads and short outages, but choose a larger station for demanding appliances or outdoor use.”
  6. Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Portable Power Station

    Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 Portable Power Station

    Best Lightweight Home-Backup Pick

    View Latest Price

    I’d choose the Explorer 1000 v2 when backup capacity matters but a heavy unit would be hard to move between rooms. Its 1,070Wh LFP battery and 1,500W AC output can support smaller household essentials and several devices, while the 23.8-pound body is more portable than the larger-capacity Anker SOLIX S2000. Three AC outlets and USB ports also make it easier to run multiple loads at once. The tradeoff is limited stored energy compared with that Anker’s 2,010Wh, so this is better for shorter outages than extended household backup. The app’s emergency mode can cut AC charging to an hour, but that setting must be enabled; solar panels are separate and limited to Jackery models.

    Pros:
    • 1,070Wh LFP capacity in a 23.8-pound unit
    • 1,500W AC output with 3,000W surge capacity
    • Three AC outlets plus USB-C, USB-A, and car ports
    • App offers emergency, quiet, and energy-efficiency charging modes
    Cons:
    • Less than half the capacity of the Anker SOLIX S2000
    • One-hour AC charging requires emergency mode in the app
    • Solar panel is not included and compatibility is limited to Jackery panels

    Best for: People who want a relatively easy-to-carry station for short outages, phones, networking gear, and modest household loads.

    Not ideal for: Households seeking longer runtimes for several appliances, or buyers who want broad third-party solar-panel compatibility.

    • Battery capacity:1,070Wh
    • Battery type:LFP
    • AC output:1,500W
    • Surge capacity:3,000W
    • Weight:23.8 lb
    • Ports:3 AC, 2 USB-C, 1 USB-A, 1 DC car port
    • Charging time:1 hour with emergency charging enabled; 1.7 hours by default
    • Solar compatibility:Jackery solar panels only; panel not included
    Our verdict
    “Choose this Jackery if you want useful outage capacity in a comparatively portable package and can accept shorter runtimes than larger stations provide.”
  7. EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic Portable Power Station, 1024Wh, 1800W AC

    EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic Portable Power Station, 1024Wh, 1800W AC

    Best for Fast-Recharging Backup

    View Latest Price

    The DELTA 3 Classic is my pick for outage plans where the station may need a quick recharge between interruptions. It reaches 80% in 45 minutes on AC power, and its 1,800W output gives it more headroom for household appliances than the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2’s 1,500W rating. Under-10ms UPS switching can also help keep sensitive electronics running through a brief power interruption. Capacity is close to the Jackery’s, though, so faster charging does not mean longer runtime during a sustained outage. Optional solar charging adds another replenishment route, but the unit cannot use the listed DELTA 2 or DELTA 3 extra batteries. I’d favor this over the Jackery for higher output and recharge speed, but not for a battery expansion plan.

    Pros:
    • 1,800W AC output and 3,600W surge capacity
    • Charges from 0–80% in 45 minutes using AC power
    • Under-10ms UPS switching for sensitive electronics
    • LiFePO4 battery and EcoFlow app controls
    Cons:
    • Solar panel is optional rather than included
    • Not compatible with DELTA 2 Smart Extra Battery or DELTA 3 Series Smart Extra Battery
    • 1,024Wh capacity limits runtime during prolonged outages

    Best for: Households that expect brief or intermittent outages and need fast wall recharging, stronger appliance output, or UPS-style support for electronics.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who want to expand capacity with the specified DELTA extra batteries or rely on included solar equipment.

    • Battery capacity:1,024Wh
    • Battery chemistry:LiFePO4
    • AC output:1,800W
    • Surge output:3,600W
    • X-Boost output:Up to 2,600W
    • AC charging time:0–80% in 45 minutes
    • UPS switching time:Under 10ms
    • Battery lifespan:Rated for 10+ years of daily use
    • Extra-battery compatibility:Not compatible with DELTA 2 Smart Extra Battery or DELTA 3 Series Smart Extra Battery
    Our verdict
    “Pick the DELTA 3 Classic over the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 if faster recharging and higher AC output matter more than battery expansion.”
  8. DaranEner Portable Power Station, 192Wh LiFePO4 Battery with 300W AC Output

    DaranEner Portable Power Station, 192Wh LiFePO4 Battery with 300W AC Output

    Best for Small Essentials

    View Latest Price

    For home backup, the DaranEner 192Wh is a small-load option, not a substitute for a full-size station. Its 300W AC output and 192Wh battery suit phones, a laptop, or other modest electronics, while the 5.73-pound weight makes it easy to carry where needed. That compactness is the point: compared with the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2, it is far easier to move but stores only a fraction of the energy and cannot support comparable appliance loads. Multiple port types let several small devices charge together, and its LiFePO4 chemistry is rated for 3,500-plus cycles. I’d keep it for personal devices and short interruptions, not a fridge or other high-draw equipment. Solar and car charging are available, but the needed accessories are not included.

    Pros:
    • Lightweight 5.73-pound design
    • LiFePO4 battery rated for 3,500-plus cycles
    • AC, USB-C, USB-A, and 12V DC ports support several device types
    • Can recharge from AC, car, or compatible solar input
    Cons:
    • 192Wh capacity provides limited backup runtime
    • 300W AC output rules out many household appliances
    • Solar panels and car-charging cables are not included

    Best for: Individuals who want a lightweight outage companion for phones, laptops, and other low-power electronics rather than household appliances.

    Not ideal for: Families needing extended backup, refrigeration support, or power for appliances above its 300W AC rating.

    • Battery capacity:192Wh
    • Battery chemistry:LiFePO4
    • AC output:300W, 600W surge
    • Weight:5.73 lb
    • AC outlets:2
    • USB-C output:60W PD
    • Solar charging input:Up to 60W DC
    • Battery cycle life:3,500+ cycles
    Our verdict
    “Choose the DaranEner for portable backup of personal electronics, but move up to the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 for meaningful household-load support.”
  9. Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station, 292Wh

    Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station, 292Wh

    Best Compact Backup for Devices

    View Latest Price

    The Explorer 300 makes more sense as a grab-and-go backup for electronics than as a household power source. At 292Wh and about 7.5 pounds, it carries more stored energy than the DaranEner 192Wh while remaining small enough to move easily or keep in a vehicle. Its two AC outlets, 100W USB-C PD, USB-A ports, and car port cover common small-device needs during a short outage. The limit is still clear: 300W rated output and modest capacity leave major appliances outside its job description. Compared with the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2, this model sacrifices both runtime and appliance headroom for a much smaller format. Solar charging is supported, but the panel is separate; listed weight also varies between the supplied product details.

    Pros:
    • 292Wh capacity in a compact 7.5-pound design
    • 100W USB-C PD port supports compatible devices
    • Two AC outlets, two USB-A ports, and a car port
    • Supports solar charging
    Cons:
    • 300W rated output and 292Wh capacity limit household backup use
    • Solar panel is sold separately
    • Supplied product details list conflicting weights

    Best for: People who want a compact station for phones, laptops, routers, and other low-wattage devices during brief outages.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need to run household appliances or keep several devices powered through a long outage.

    • Capacity:292Wh
    • Battery chemistry:LiFePO4
    • Peak surge:600W
    • Weight:About 7.5 lb in description; 7.1 lb in product information
    • Ports:2 AC, 1 USB-C PD, 2 USB-A, 1 car port
    • USB-C PD output:100W
    • Battery charge time:4 hours
    • Solar charging:About 80% in 2.8 hours with a 100W panel; panel not included
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Explorer 300 over the DaranEner when you want a little more capacity and 100W USB-C, but not appliance-grade backup.”
  10. Anker SOLIX S2000 Portable Power Station, 2,010Wh, 1,500W

    Anker SOLIX S2000 Portable Power Station, 2,010Wh, 1,500W

    Best for Longer Outages

    View Latest Price

    Among these five, the Anker SOLIX S2000 is the clearest fit when the priority is keeping more devices running for longer. Its 2,010Wh LiFePO4 battery holds nearly twice the energy of the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2, giving buyers more room for extended outages before recharging. Eight outlets and a 1,500W continuous output support several simultaneous loads, while under-10ms UPS switchover suits electronics that benefit from a fast handoff. The tradeoff is weight: at 35.7 pounds, it is less convenient to move than the Jackery, and it has no 12V DC port. Solar input reaches 400W, with multiple other recharge routes listed, but actual runtime depends on the connected equipment and use.

    Pros:
    • 2,010Wh capacity exceeds the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2’s 1,070Wh
    • 1,500W continuous output with 3,000W peak output
    • Eight outlets and up to 400W solar input
    • Under-10ms UPS switchover and multiple recharge methods
    Cons:
    • 35.7-pound weight makes frequent carrying less convenient
    • No 12V DC port
    • Actual runtime varies with appliance, use, and ambient temperature

    Best for: Households prioritizing longer backup for multiple devices and willing to manage a heavier station.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need a lightweight unit, a dedicated 12V DC port, or guaranteed runtimes for specific appliances.

    • Battery capacity:2,010Wh
    • Battery type:LiFePO4
    • Continuous output:1,500W
    • Peak output:3,000W
    • Outlets:8
    • Solar input:Up to 400W
    • UPS switchover:Under 10ms
    • Weight:35.7 lb
    • Dimensions:8.19 × 11.1 × 12.7 in
    Our verdict
    “Choose the S2000 over the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 when longer runtimes matter more than carrying weight or a 12V DC connection.”
  11. Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station with 40W Solar Panel

    Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station with 40W Solar Panel

    Best Compact Backup Kit

    View Latest Price

    The Explorer 300 with its included 40W solar panel is a portable reserve for phones, routers, lights, and other modest loads—not a substitute for a household backup system. Its 292Wh capacity and 300W rated output suit short outages or a small set of essentials, while LiFePO4 chemistry rated for over 4,000 cycles supports frequent use. Compared with the BLUETTI AC180, it is far easier to carry at 12.9 pounds, but its capacity and output are much lower, ruling out many appliances. The panel adds a way to recharge away from an outlet, though its 40W rating means a slow refill: the supplied details estimate about 7.5 hours to reach 80% capacity. I’d choose it for portability and basic essentials, not extended or high-demand outages.

    Pros:
    • 12.9-pound weight is easier to move and store than the BLUETTI AC180.
    • LiFePO4 battery is rated for over 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity.
    • Includes a 40W solar panel for off-grid recharging.
    • Two AC outlets plus USB-C, USB-A, and car-port connections support several small devices.
    Cons:
    • 292Wh capacity is suited to small loads and short backup periods, not broad household coverage.
    • The included 40W panel takes about 7.5 hours to reach 80% capacity, according to the product details.
    • The station and solar panel may ship separately.

    Best for: Solo users or couples who want a lightweight station for phones, a router, LED lights, and brief outages, with a small solar panel included.

    Not ideal for: Households that need to run a refrigerator, several appliances, or essential devices through a long outage; the 292Wh capacity and 300W output are limiting, and solar replenishment is slow.

    • Capacity:292Wh
    • Peak surge:600W
    • Battery chemistry:LiFePO4
    • Charge cycles:Over 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity
    • AC outlets:2
    • USB-C:100W PD
    • Included solar panel:40W
    • Weight:12.9 lbs
    Our verdict
    “Choose this compact kit for lightweight backup of small electronics, but step up to a larger-capacity station such as the BLUETTI AC180 for appliances or longer outages.”
  12. BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power Station, 1152Wh LiFePO4 Battery, 1800W Output

    BLUETTI AC180 Portable Power Station, 1152Wh LiFePO4 Battery, 1800W Output

    Best Mid-Size Home Backup

    View Latest Price

    The BLUETTI AC180 hits a useful middle ground for home backup: its 1,152Wh battery and 1,800W output can support more than the small electronics suited to the Jackery Explorer 300, while remaining much less imposing than the 77.2-pound HomePower 3600 Plus. A 2,700W peak output gives compatible devices room for startup surges, and the 20ms UPS response is designed to switch to battery quickly for connected equipment. That makes it a stronger candidate for a router or desktop setup during brief interruptions, though it is not a guarantee that every device will ride through a transfer without interruption. Solar input reaches 500W, but the station still weighs 37.4 pounds, so moving it between rooms is possible rather than effortless. I’d pick it for practical backup capacity without committing to a much larger system.

    Pros:
    • 1,152Wh capacity and 1,800W running output offer substantially more backup potential than the Explorer 300.
    • 2,700W peak output can accommodate startup surges from compatible equipment.
    • 20ms UPS response is useful for connected electronics that need a quick backup handoff.
    • Supports up to 500W solar input and includes AC, car, and solar charging cables.
    Cons:
    • At 37.4 pounds, it is much heavier to carry than compact stations.
    • Its capacity is well below the Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus, limiting backup duration for larger household loads.
    • The listed output is 120V, so it does not provide the paired-unit 240V setup described for the HomePower 3600 Plus.

    Best for: Households seeking a mid-size backup station for networking gear, lights, and selected appliances, with solar charging and a fast UPS response.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need extended whole-home coverage, 240V operation, or a light station they can carry easily; its 1,152Wh capacity and 37.4-pound weight set clear limits.

    • Battery capacity:1,152Wh
    • Battery type:LiFePO4
    • Running output:1,800W
    • Peak output:2,700W
    • AC charging input:1,440W
    • Solar input:500W
    • UPS response time:20ms
    • Voltage:120V
    • Weight:37.4 lbs
    Our verdict
    “Pick the AC180 for a balance of meaningful appliance support and manageable scale, but choose a larger expandable system for longer or higher-demand outages.”
  13. Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station, 3584Wh, 3600W

    Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station, 3584Wh, 3600W

    Best Expandable High-Capacity Backup

    View Latest Price

    For buyers planning around longer outages or heavier loads, the Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus offers a different scale of backup from the BLUETTI AC180: it starts with 3,584Wh and 3,600W output, then allows capacity expansion up to 21kWh per unit or 43kWh with multiple units. That flexibility makes it the strongest fit here for a growing backup setup, and paired units can support 240V operation. Its LFP battery is rated for 6,000 cycles, while AC, solar, gas-generator, and hybrid charging give owners several ways to replenish it. The tradeoff is substantial: at 77.2 pounds, this is not a station I’d plan to lift often, though wheels and a telescopic handle help with rolling it. Unlike the smaller Explorer 300, it is built for broader backup needs, but 240V requires pairing units.

    Pros:
    • 3,584Wh capacity and 3,600W output provide far more headroom than the BLUETTI AC180.
    • Expandable capacity reaches 21kWh per unit or 43kWh with multiple units.
    • AC, solar, gas-generator, and hybrid AC+DC charging offer several replenishment paths.
    • Wheels and a telescopic handle make rolling the 77.2-pound unit easier.
    Cons:
    • The 77.2-pound weight makes lifting and frequent repositioning difficult.
    • 240V operation requires units to be paired, adding equipment and setup needs.
    • Its larger capacity and expansion options may be excessive for buyers backing up only phones, lights, and networking equipment.

    Best for: Homeowners preparing for longer outages who want high output, expandable capacity, multiple charging methods, and the option to build a paired 240V system.

    Not ideal for: Apartment dwellers or buyers seeking a lightweight, low-capacity station for a few electronics; the 77.2-pound body takes space, and 240V requires another unit in parallel.

    • Battery capacity:3,584Wh
    • Output wattage:3,600W
    • Voltage:120V; 240V in parallel
    • Battery type:LFP
    • Cycle life:6,000 cycles
    • Expandable capacity:Up to 21kWh per unit or 43kWh with multiple units
    • Charging time:2 hours hybrid AC+DC; 2.5 hours AC or gas generator; 4 hours solar
    • Weight:77.2 lbs
    • Warranty:5 years
    Our verdict
    “Choose the HomePower 3600 Plus if you want a high-output, expandable home backup foundation and can accommodate its weight and paired-unit requirement for 240V.”
portable power stations for home backup
What makes a great portable power stations for home backup
1
Match Battery Capacity to Outage Duration
Capacity, measured in watt-hours, estimates how much energy a station stores; it does not directly tell you how many hours every a
2
Check Both Running Watts and Startup Surges
The station must support a device’s running power, but motors and compressors may briefly draw more when starting.
3
Plan How You Will Recharge During an Outage
A battery station can only cover repeated or extended use if you have a way to put energy back into it.
4
Choose Battery Chemistry With Ownership in Mind
Some models in this roundup specify LiFePO4 batteries, while others list capacity without stating the chemistry in the supplied pr
How to choose your portable power stations for home backup
1
How we picked
I ranked these stations for home-outage usefulness , not for portability or headline output alone.
2
Match Battery Capacity to Outage Duration
Capacity, measured in watt-hours, estimates how much energy a station stores; it does not directly tell you how many hou
3
Check Both Running Watts and Startup Surges
The station must support a device’s running power, but motors and compressors may briefly draw more when starting.
4
Plan How You Will Recharge During an Outage
A battery station can only cover repeated or extended use if you have a way to put energy back into it.
5
Choose Battery Chemistry With Ownership in Mind
Some models in this roundup specify LiFePO4 batteries, while others list capacity without stating the chemistry in the s
Vetted portable power stations for home backup ·
The best portable power stations for home backup, compared
★ Winner Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 Portab
Best Overall for Home Backup
13compared
3,584Whtop battery capacity
3battery types

How We Picked

I ranked these stations for home-outage usefulness, not for portability or headline output alone. The main factors were stated battery capacity, AC output, battery chemistry where specified, included solar equipment, and how well each unit’s scale matches common backup needs. I gave more weight to models that can support a broader range of essential devices without jumping to the size of a large home backup unit.

The order reflects the tradeoff between usable capacity, output, and practical fit. That puts balanced mid-size choices ahead of tiny emergency chargers for most homes, while reserving the highest-capacity pick for people with larger backup plans. Compact units remain valuable for light loads, but their limited stored energy narrows their role. Where the product details do not specify a feature, I do not assume it is present.

Factors to Consider When Choosing Portable Power Stations For Home Backup

Before choosing a station, I’d map the devices you want to run and the length of the outage you want to cover. The right unit depends on your load, recharge plan, and whether you need backup for a few essentials or a wider set of household equipment.

Match Battery Capacity to Outage Duration

Capacity, measured in watt-hours, estimates how much energy a station stores; it does not directly tell you how many hours every appliance will run. Add the wattage of devices you expect to use and the hours you plan to run them, then allow extra room for conversion losses and changing loads. A router and a few lights can suit a compact station, while a fridge or repeated device charging can consume stored energy much faster. A common mistake is choosing by the battery’s headline number without writing down actual use. If you face long outages, a larger battery or a reliable recharge plan matters more than a short burst of high output.

Check Both Running Watts and Startup Surges

The station must support a device’s running power, but motors and compressors may briefly draw more when starting. That startup surge can stop an otherwise suitable refrigerator, pump, or power tool from operating. Check both the appliance’s label or manual and the station’s stated output limits before buying. Avoid treating a high AC wattage as proof that a unit can run every appliance; a station may have enough power for a short burst but not enough stored energy for hours of use. For backup centered on electronics and lighting, output requirements are usually easier to meet than for motor-driven equipment.

Plan How You Will Recharge During an Outage

A battery station can only cover repeated or extended use if you have a way to put energy back into it. Grid charging helps before an outage, while solar can help during one if the panels receive suitable sunlight and the station accepts the panel’s input. Bundled panels simplify the initial setup, but they do not guarantee a particular recharge time in cloudy weather, shade, or winter conditions. Check the station’s supported solar input and connector requirements before adding panels. If sunlight is unreliable, treat solar as a supplement rather than your only outage plan.

Choose Battery Chemistry With Ownership in Mind

Some models in this roundup specify LiFePO4 batteries, while others list capacity without stating the chemistry in the supplied product name. Battery chemistry can affect cycle life, weight, and long-term ownership, so compare the manufacturer’s detailed specifications rather than filling in missing information. A longer cycle-life claim matters most if you expect frequent use or regular charging and discharging. For an occasional emergency reserve, capacity, output, and storage conditions may carry more weight. Also check the manufacturer’s guidance for storage charge levels and periodic maintenance so the station is ready when an outage occurs.

Think Through Placement, Portability, and Noise

A station kept in a closet or utility area needs a clear path to the devices it will power, and a larger model can be difficult to move when the power is already out. Decide whether you will carry it between rooms, leave it near a fridge, or keep it beside a planned backup circuit setup. Check the manufacturer’s ventilation and operating instructions, and do not assume a portable station can connect directly to household wiring. Any connection to a home circuit may require compatible equipment and a qualified electrician. For simple backup, extension cords from the station may be the safer and more straightforward arrangement.

Spend More Only for a Clear Backup Need

Higher capacity and output are useful when your load list or outage duration calls for them, but unused capacity adds bulk and storage demands. Start by separating must-run devices from comforts, then decide whether you need simultaneous appliance use or just sequential charging. Buyers who only need communications and lighting may be better served by a compact station, while households supporting refrigeration or longer outages can justify moving up. Leave room in your plan for the battery’s usable energy to be lower than its rated capacity under real conditions. A clear load plan often prevents paying for power that will rarely be used.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can one of these portable power stations run my refrigerator during an outage?

Possibly, but the fridge’s running draw, startup surge, and cycling pattern all matter. Check its label or manual and compare those figures with the station’s AC output limit; then estimate how many hours the stored capacity can cover. A 1,024Wh or 1,152Wh station has more room for this job than a 192Wh or roughly 300Wh model, but runtime still depends on the refrigerator and conditions. For an extended outage, plan a way to recharge or use the fridge intermittently. Do not assume that a station’s wattage alone predicts overnight performance.

Is a 300W power station enough for home backup?

A 300W-class station can be useful for a narrow backup plan, such as phones, a modem or router, lights, and other low-draw electronics. It is a poor match for running several household appliances together, and its roughly 192Wh to 300Wh capacity range limits how long even modest loads can run. Check both the total wattage and the runtime you need rather than treating the 300W figure as a measure of battery life. If refrigeration or longer outages are priorities, compare it with the 1,024Wh-class options. Choose a compact unit when easy handling and small essential loads matter more than broad coverage.

Should I choose a bundled solar panel or buy a station without one?

A bundle can make setup simpler when you want to start testing solar charging without choosing a compatible panel separately. The ZeroKor and Jackery Explorer 300 bundles include panels, but panel size and sunlight conditions affect how quickly they can replenish a battery. A station sold without a panel may be a better fit if you already own compatible equipment or need to select a different solar input setup. Confirm supported input limits, connectors, and any required adapters before buying. For outage planning, keep another charging option available if weather or panel placement makes solar unreliable.

When is a 3,584Wh station worth choosing over a 1,024Wh model?

The larger station is easier to justify when your plan includes longer outages, higher total energy use, or multiple essential devices over an extended period. The Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus has far more stated capacity and higher output than the 1,024Wh EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic, but that added scale can be unnecessary for a short, electronics-only backup plan. Make a list of loads and estimate daily energy use before moving up in capacity. Also account for where the unit will be stored and how you will recharge it. If your needs are modest, a mid-size station can be simpler to place and manage.

Can I connect a portable power station directly to my home’s electrical panel?

Do not connect a station to household wiring with a homemade cord or an improvised method. A panel connection requires compatible transfer equipment and must follow the station maker’s instructions and local electrical rules. Some portable stations are designed for outlet-based backup rather than whole-home integration, so check the exact model’s documentation. A qualified electrician can determine whether a safe panel connection is possible for your setup. If you are powering a few standalone devices, running them directly from the station may avoid the complexity of a panel connection.

Conclusion

For most buyers, my best overall pick is the EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic, with the BLUETTI AC180 a strong alternative if its 1,152Wh capacity better fits your load plan. For best value by role, I’d look first at the ALLWEI 300W for a compact LiFePO4 option, while remembering that its 300W output limits it to lighter backup duties. The best premium choice is the Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus for households that can use its 3,584Wh capacity and 3,600W output. For beginners with a small list of essentials, the Jackery Explorer 300 is a straightforward scale to start with; choose its solar-panel bundle if you want a panel included. For specific needs, pick the ZeroKor bundle for a compact solar-ready package, the Anker SOLIX S2000 for its 2,010Wh capacity and 1,500W output, or the DaranEner when a small LiFePO4 unit is the better match. The best decision comes from matching your essential devices and outage duration to both the station’s output and stored energy.

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

10 Best Whole House Air Purifiers for Smoke in 2026 to Keep Your Home Fresh

Discover the top whole house air purifiers for smoke in 2026. Find the best options for coverage, filtration, and value to improve your home’s air quality.

11 Best Compact Wood Stove for Supplemental Heat in 2026

Discover the best compact wood stoves for supplemental heat in 2026. Our guide compares portability, efficiency, and ease of use to help you choose.

15 Best LED Face Masks for Glowing Skin – Reviewed and Ranked

Discover the top LED face masks of 2026, including the best overall, value picks, and premium options. Find the perfect mask for your skincare goals.

15 Best 2026 Comfort Sneakers in 2026

Discover the best 2026 comfort sneakers, including top picks like Skechers Glide-Step Altus and New Balance Fresh Foam X More V6. Find your perfect fit today!